a happeeee birthday

It’s my birthday! And yeah. Ok. I had all weekend to play, but I took today off anyway. By the way, I have been sick for a month now. I think it could be a sinus infection or something at this point. I said 2 weeks ago, if I still have this cough by Friday, I will go to the doctor. Well… the cough is gone. So… if I still have this snot by Friday, I will go to the doctor. :p

My family came over Sunday night for some dinner {lettuce wraps- yum!} and badminton {weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!} It was super fun. They spoil me. See?:

Today was nice and relaxing. And hella long, too. Jonathan had to work all day and will be workin all night! boooooo

So. My day. First, blogs n’ dog in bed. {I was still up and at em’ by 8.}:

Left: Cake for breakfast! Thanks, Mom! It’s lemon. Mmmmm. Oh, I don’t think trophy wives eat cake for breakfast – and whatever they do eat probably gets yoga’d off by 10am. But I am new at this. And calories don’t count on your birthday. Right: This is the card Becky made for me – I loooooooooove it!!!! It’s the cutest thing EVERRRRRRRRRRRR. I use a lot of extra letters, I know, when I am terribly excited about something.

I should tell you about my awesome gifts this year. My husband got me some hiking shoes in May before we went camping. He also got me a cute stripey umbrella for our patio set. AND he got me the mother of food processors. The Cuininart Prep 9. I did exhaustive review-reading on it! Can’t wait to try it out.

My parents gave me a Cricut scrapbook paper cutter. It’s awesome! I’ve been having lots of fun with it. Also, some accessories for the Cricut and a pattern/supplies to make a really funky tote bag. Kevin and Becky gave me a scrapbook paper organizer and a gift card to Roberts. I wasted no time putting it toward another Cricut cartridge. Thanks, family!!! You spoil me.

Anyway. Back to my leisurely day. I drove up Ogden Canyon a ways, with a mixed CD from last week’s swap, and a vanilla latte. It was a beautiful day.

On my way back down I stopped at the Ogden River Trail and lazed a bit by the water.

Someone lives right on the river across from where I was. I zoomed in on their private property because I’m creepy like that.

Giant birthday coffee. No seriously, doesn’t the angle make it look giant? Maybe THAT’S what happens to my nose in photos…

So, I actually really love Ogden, but I forget to appreciate it sometimes. I was excited to have a whole day off to check out fun places, but much to my dismay many places are closed on Mondays. What?

Left: I loved this sign. Sadly, this is one of the establishments that was closed. I think an old lady was totally inside giving me the evil eye for taking pictures of the sign, though. Right: I love this lil’ Ogden treasure. I didn’t stop for ice cream after having cake for breakfast. But I totally wanted to.

Downtown O-town is so pretty and quaint, except for the homeless guys who yell at you.

Olive and Dahlia: I LOVE this store, but it is total visual overload, is it not? I love their garden out back. I purchased a little copper butterfly on a stake for my garden.

Also checked out a new {I think; I’d never noticed it} consignment shop downtown {disappointing, but maybe because it’s still so new} and hit Salvation Army and Savers in search of furniture to rescue. No luck. I’m pretty sure those consignment shops are ruining it for scavengers like me… people are buying up anything good and fixing it up to sell for top dollar.

I think someone should start a great blog about Ogden. For real.

I headed home when I was out of Kleenex. Spent the rest of the day home with my stuffed-up self learning to use my swanky new Cricut and messing up my craft room. (:

{And I want to mention, today I fulfilled an item on my 30 things to do before I’m 30 list: “Take a day off work, drive somewhere remote, and take photos.”}

10 thoughts on “a happeeee birthday”

  1. Happy B-Day! I hope you had a great day – may all your wishes come true. Every day should be a cak-in-bed day!

  2. Happy Birthday! Wow! That’s a humongo birthday bag! πŸ™‚ My birthday is in two weeks and hope my parents and brother got the hint (aka the link I emailed them to my myregistry.com birthday wish list lol) so hopefully my dreams come true as well! πŸ™‚

  3. Hey. Texted you yesterday but not sure if that was your phone number. LOL. Anyway…hope you had a great birthday!

    Heather

    1. thanks Heather! i didn’t get the text… but i do have a new number as of a couple years ago. i will send you my new #. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

