{almost} happy new year

So… it sometimes seems that the best thing about a blog is getting to fully satiate my narcissism. But I think there are some decent opportunities for growth and self-improvement in my little blogging world. That is, I am a huge planner, schemer, goal-maker. And having a semi-public place to state my lofty ambitions, track my progress, etc, gives me motivation to see many of my plans through.

Here’s what I resolved for 2009 and 2008 and 2007. I’m nothing if not consistent and cliche.

In 2009 I challenged myself to be vegetarian for 30 days. I also did my best to give up retail for 60 days. I constantly list things I wanted to accomplish over whatever time span and brag about the results of my completed projects. I pat myself on the back pretty regularly. And it’s weird I used to be so, so hard on myself about things. This blogging thing has somehow turned me into my biggest advocate. My big goals were supported through tracking and blogging about my mini victories. I have a bazillion things I could improve about myself {we all do}, but the execution of it can be the fun part if you let it.

I have some grand plans for the new year and on into the future. I’ve been drafting lists and jotting ideas for weeks, getting them ready to document here on my little blog. Some are uber practical {school/work/money related}. Some include things I want to do to make life more fun {fashion/friends/family/travel related}. One is a completely lofty “just want to prove I can” type goal.

I am an all-or-nothing kind of gal. I can’t eat just one. I don’t believe in making small changes to see big results. I make giant changes to see giant results then celebrate with a giant margarita. I love this time of year because I love planning and the feeling of a fresh start, and I love love LOVE hearing what other people are planning and encouraging each other together. Here’s your cue to start drafting some goals for the year and discussing- what motivates you?

1 thought on “{almost} happy new year”

Leave a Reply

